The Awhina Society Inc.

The Awhina Society Incorporated is governed by a governance committee elected from members of the society. There is a constitution setting out the rules of the society. Membership of the governance committee is unpaid. The governance committee meets on a monthly basis to oversee the strategic direction of the society. An annual general meeting (AGM) is held each September. At the AGM position holders within the governance committee are elected. Those positions are; Chairperson, Secretary, Committee Member(s). The governance committee consists of no fewer than 4 and no more than 12 members.

This group also oversees the budget and authorizes the monthly accounts.

Äwhina Society Incorporated employs staff to deliver the core business of the society. 1 full time Society Coordinator, 1 fulltime Food bank coordinator, 1 full time Refuge assistant coordinator and 1 part time financial administrator.


Details of current committee members, past chairpersons and some past committee members....
Find out more


The Awhina Society Incorporated started out as the Awhina Lodge Society in 1977 evolving from emergency housing to today's Taupo Womens Refuge and Taupo Community Foodbank....
Find out more

Mission & Objectives

Our Mission is to serve the Taupo Community by providing a 24 hour, 7 day a week means of escape from domestic violence and providing support, nourishment, encouragement and advocacy for families and individuals in need of such support....
Find out more

Policies & Procedures

The purpose of all Awhina Society policies is to ensure that all aspects of the Awhina Society are clear and transparent and to use clear language in each policy and also to make policies easily accessible....
Find out more

Te Tiriti O Waitangi

Taupo Womens Refuge is committed to honoring Te Tiriti O Waitangi, the Treaty of Waitangi....
Find out more

Awhina Society Incorporated Charity Rules

The Awhina Society is an Incorporated Society. Find enclosed the charity rules....
Find out more

24 Hour Crisis Line

07 377 1055

Our Sponsors